Anne Sophie Duprels as Cio-Cio-San in Madama Butterfly. Credit: Robert Workman

Butterfly is on the road! After a few weeks in Leeds the whole company is now touring and this week we’re in Newcastle. Last week was Nottingham and next week we’ll be at The Lowry, Salford Quays. It’s always an adventure to take shows around. Lots of trucks, different theatres, different acoustics, different dressing rooms, hotel rooms….

I always have a look at the stage when I get to the new venue, the theatres aren’t the same size so we have to adapt and move things around! Sometimes the space on the side of the stage is really small and you have to be very careful with all the cables on the floor and lightings.

Every night feels like opening night with all these changes! So yes I get nervous! But I feel lucky to have such lovely colleagues and the wonderful stage and back stage crew to make our journey smoother, they prepare everything and are so helpful!

After Salford Quays I’ll get to go home for a few weeks, I haven’t been home for a while so it will be nice and busy! Then I’ll get ready for another run of Butterfly starting in February next year.

Madama Butterfly is at Theatre Royal, Newcastle on Saturday 12 November and at The Lowry, Salford Quays on  16 & 19 November. For more information go here.

