Can you tell Puccini from G&S? Ghostly curses from gambling ways? Tragedy from three card tricks? The below extracts are taken from Opera North’s Autumn season operas, Madama Butterfly, Ruddigore and The Queen of Spades but can you work out which lines belong in which opera? Comment below with your answers and you could win a pair of tickets!

1) ‘I’ve never felt such pure devotion

In all my life before.

I tell myself that this emotion

Will last for ever more!

But then my jealous heart imagines another holds her fast,

While I, poor fool, have no courage to kiss the ground where she has passed.’

2) ‘Your strength can protect me.

Your smile so honest and so open you tell me things I was quite unaware of. I’m so contented, I’m so contented…

Just love me a little, a very very little.

The little love I ask for is no more than a child needs.’

3) ‘In bygone days I had thy love,

Thou hadst my heart.

But fate, all human vows above

Our lives did part.

By the old love thou hadst for me,

By the fond heart that beat for thee,

By joys that never now can be,

Grant thou prayer!’

Answers will be announced on Friday 12 August.

Find out more about Opera North’s Autumn Season here.

