Eaton’s Blog.

I’m exhausted! I’ve just finished a long day at rehearsals, where we have been practising a very high energy dance number. I have to throw my leading lady, (Summer Strallen who plays ‘Lidochka’) over my back and head while we’re jiving and spinning around so much, that by the end of the number we can barely speak due to exhaustion! The number looks amazing though, and I’m sure the audiences are going to love it.

I‘ve been having such a good time in rehearsals these past few weeks. This is my first time working with Opera North and it’s been an absolute pleasure, everyone has been so welcoming and friendly. Coming from a Musical Theatre background things in rehearsals have been very different for me, but working on such a fun piece like Paradise Moscow keeps everyone in such high spirits. We’re always giggling in rehearsals. It’s hard to stay serious when you’re rehearsing a scene where the chorus and dancers are all wearing flower pots on their heads! You have to come and watch the show to see how that happens.

This whole process has been so rewarding. The part I play, Boris, is really demanding but so gratifying. It’s always hard leaving my flat in London to go away to rehearse, but I’ve fallen in love with Leeds and I look forward to going to work each day.

I’m off now, I have an early start tomorrow as we’re rehearsing the bows, I’ve heard it’s a dance number in itself, I can’t wait. 

Eaton James
Principal
Paradise Moscow

